11.03.2010

Are you over-vampired and tired of werewolves?  Or, are you dying for more?  Either way, these two novels offer fresh takes on the supernatural and are worth checking out! 

Alex Van Helsing: Vampire Rising
by Jason Henderson

Summary:  Alex is surprised to discover that he doesn’t simply share the name of a legendary vampire hunter, he might actually become one too.

Thoughts:  I admit I have been a little over-vampired.  I was a huge Twilight fan when it was first published, but I've grown weary of the vampire mania.  So, I wasn't that excited to read this new novel by first time novelist Jason Henderson.  But, I heard a lot about it and decided to give it a try.  Boy, am I glad I did!  I loved it!  Mr. Henderson's vampire storyline is fresh & new and filled with delicious literary & historical references.  I just ate it up!  It's a an exciting, suspense-filled adventure that is anything but a Twilight copycat.  One review calls it a "modern-day spin of James Bond meets Dracula" which sums it up perfectly!  Fans of Vladimir TodAlex Rider, Alfred Kropp, the Young Bond series, or anyone who likes good adventure, try this new series by Jason Henderson.     

Click here for more info about the Alex Van Helsing series and author Jason Henderson!
 

Claire de Lune
by Christine Johnson

Summary:  Claire, a seemingly normal 16-year-old, is thrilled when she finally catches the attention of handsome, popular Matthew.  But, she soon discovers a family secret and realizes she is anything but normal.   

Thoughts:  Again, I wasn't thrilled about another werewolf novel, but was pleasantly surprised with Claire de Lune.  The mother-daughter relationship and the concepts of self-acceptance are explored in this suspenseful, intriguing fantasy. I really liked Matthew, the boy who captures Claire's heart, and liked that he is the son of Claire's mother's arch enemy.  Lots of tension, intrigue, and romance.  I am hoping for a sequel to this fun, alpha-female fantasy!  :)     

Click here for more details about Claire de Lune and author Christine Johnson.

No comments:

Post a Comment

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...